One Year

Sigh… It’s now been one year…

Spent half the day at a meeting.  Then after the meeting I called in sick and met Maggie, and Dave’s parents at the graveside.   Actually I got there about 30 to 45 minutes early.  I stood at the grave and talked to Dave, and I cried.    When Maggie arrived we stood there for a bit just holding onto each other.  I was still a mess.  She asked me if I had trouble finding the grave…  I didn’t… I haven’t been there in a year, yet I could have found the grave blindfolded I think…  I just knew…

After his folks arrived we all talked for a bit.  Then Maggie started a song (“Leaving of Liverpool”), and I joined in on the chorus.   We then talked a bit more and then ended with “Sailors prayer”. At some point Maggie started to stumble on the verses and I picked them up. I didn’t know I actually knew the verses to “Sailors Prayer”…  Then on the last verse I ended up leading with Maggie harmonizing to me.  Very weird…

I hope I sounded OK, Maggie said I did…

I hope Dave approved…

3 thoughts on “One Year

Comments are closed.