Tombstones

I have started work on a new batch of tombstones for the Halloween display this year.

Cross
ornate
Based off a sword

They are made from building insulation foam. I broke down and bought a foam cutter from Hobby Lobby for $20, and am GLAD I did. I have a few others to cut, then I will set about gluing the supports to the backs, and then painting.

The cross design, is based off one I saw on the web. I was going to try to freehand it, but couldn’t get it to look right. So I sat down with my graphics program, and realized what I wanted was just a series of circles that were cut at various points. About 3 minutes later I had a pattern printed, traced to cardboard and cut out. Then it was just a matter of flipping and/or rotating the pattern 90 degrees to make the full design.

2 thoughts on “Tombstones

Comments are closed.