OpenID is here

Ok folks, I got to playing with OpenID last night. Instead of having to fill in all those fields to comment on my blog, you can now just enter your LJ account URL in the OpenID field below and it will let you post. LJ’s OpenID support is a little rickety… but it is there. I personally recommend creating an OpenID at http://pip.verisignlabs.com. Their implementation is leaps and bounds ahead of LJ’s, but I realize hey you are already most likely using LJ so why not jsut use that.

So, if your URL to your blog is: http://cap60552.livejournal.com/ just put in cap60552.livejournal.com in the OpenID field below, and fill in a comment. It should work. Try it! You know you want to be cool!

* Note: Comments are still screened at this point.. so you won’t likely see your comment until I have approved it.. and the 1st time you use openid you have to authorize my site as being able to recieve data from your open id provider.

5 thoughts on “OpenID is here

  1. Lemming!

    … but I confess that I fail to see the benefit? I’d added my “identity”, typed up
    a comment, was routed to LJ asking me to validate that they could release my identity
    to you, and then got sent to a mostly blank page that just said “error on page”.
    Eventually I got back here as a logged-in user but my comment had vanished. Weird…

    So… trying again. (after logging out and re-entering my identity above)

    And it failed. I got an “error. please type a comment” screen. So apparently, currently, the only way to use this is to be logged in with an identity and THEN type the comment…. (testing now)

  2. Lemming!

    … but I confess that I fail to see the benefit? I’d added my “identity”, typed up
    a comment, was routed to LJ asking me to validate that they could release my identity
    to you, and then got sent to a mostly blank page that just said “error on page”.
    Eventually I got back here as a logged-in user but my comment had vanished. Weird…

    So… trying again. (after logging out and re-entering my identity above)

    And it failed. I got an “error. please type a comment” screen. So apparently,
    currently, the only way to use this is to be logged in with an identity and THEN
    type the comment…. (testing now)

    Nope. That apparently didn’t work either. So now I’m attempting to comment without giving it an openid identity….

  3. The other weird thing about your comments page is that when I navigate to here, the box where I’m typing this exact text appears to be the correct size but as soon as I enter at least one character it “jumps” to be the entire width of the page, or possibly slightly larger. The problem with that is that some of the text is then obscured by the “archive” panel. Not a big deal in the grand scheme of things, just thought you might want to know…

  4. Comments do automatically get screened… so They wont appear until i approve them… so that partly why you didn’t see yours at 1st…

  5. Oh… ok re: screening…

    But it was very confusing because rather than see my comments I only saw an error message…

Comments are closed.