Port Washington Pirate Fest 2008 – Part 3

This weekend presented many many opportunities to interact with people. Some interactions such as the invasion cruise, and the breakfast with the pirates events were scheduled, others were not. When not scheduled to be anywhere specific I wandered the festival grounds, as well as the main street in town. Originally Sunday was supposed to be the day of the parade. Due to inclement weatherthe wrath of god part 2 the parade was canceled. During the time of the parade I had gotten word that a number of the performers were performing at the nearby holiday inn. I decided to check it out, rather than take the short route that also provided more cover from the rain, I decided “ehh, I can’t really get any wetter than i already am” and as I took the longer route down main street, where the parade would have gone. As I turned the corner onto main street I discovered that at least some Wisconsinites don’t let rain end a parade. Huddled under a few awnings, and door openings, wearing parkas and rain gear was a collection of kids and adults apparently waiting for the parade. “Look there’s one, there’s a pirate!!!” I sauntered over to them and asked them what they were doing… “Isn’t there supposed to be a parade?” one woman asked. I responded, that yes, under normal conditions there should be a parade, but sadly it was canceled due to the rain. At that the kids in the group looked rather downtrodden. “Lookin forward ta the parade were ya?”, I asked the kids “uh huh” came the response. “Well, I’ll tell ya what, I can’t get you a full parade with floats and everythin’ but what do you say to having yer own personal private pirate parade?” They looked at me like I was from mars… “No, really, how about I give ya yer own personal private pirate parade… wow thats a mouth full isn’t it?” the kids chuckeld. “Oh, its funny is it? let hear the whole lot a’ ya say it” the kids stared blankly… “Right, let me hear you say ‘I want my personal private pirate parade!'” The mother was the first to say it. then with a bit more encouragement the kids all asked for it. Fortunate for me, at that point two patrons dressed in their pirate finest came by with umbrellas… “Alright then, if these good pirates wouldst indulge me for just a moment, I now give ya your own personal private pirate parade!” At that the 3 of us marched down the street in front of the ‘crowd’ , waving I made sure to over exaggerate my steps and used my paddle as a baton ala bozo’s circus, and shouting “I love a parade, a personal private pirate parade…” After we marched past the group I broke off from the patron couple who continued on (i assume happy to get away from my insanity) and returned to the group. I then handed out my mini messages in a bottle to the kids, and informed the whole group that there were things still going on at the festival site, and that there were also things happening at the Holiday Inn right down the street from them. At that they all made their way down to the hotel, and joined in the group there who were being entertained by the Jolly Rodgers, Bounding Main, and Jock Stewart. I followed along behind slowly.

One thought on “Port Washington Pirate Fest 2008 – Part 3

  1. I remember when I first started my journey, realizing that literally all the world is a stage. The thrill of connecting with someone on a one-to-one basis and sharing with them a touch of the magic you have discovered – words fail me.

    And aren’t kids amazing? They have not lost their sense of joy and wonder at all the good things in this world. They recognize the magic in you, and they feed your spirit with their smiles.

    I envy you your ability to interact with kids like that. I love playing for kids, but I don’t know that I can connect with them in the same way.

    You are a fortunate man indeed.

Comments are closed.