Bad Gift #2

Well, the photos didn’t go over well…  But hey I bought her the rolling cutter for fabric she wanted, so thas a good thign right?

WRONG!

I bought the wrong thing apparently.  Tonight she informed me that she will not use the rolling cutter or mat I got her and that it was NOT what she wanted.

She wants some sort of all in one device that ____ at the church has. “She can cut out an entire quilt in a couple of minutes”.    Well, I talked to friends, I tlaked to the poepe at the craft stores they all told me what I got was the right thing.  The all in one device thing I saw is for PAPER only. “NO ITS NOT!  ___ USES ONE ALL THE TIME! ITS FOR FABRC”  “OK, SO I’M WRONG, I BOGUHT YOU THE WROGN THING BECASUE I LISTENED TO TH PEOPLE THAT DO THIS ALL THE TIME! WHY WOULD THEY HAVE ANY CLUE! I DONT DO CRAFTS! I DONT KNOW WHAT TO GET! YOU DIDN’T GIVE ME ANYTHING TO GO ON! NO NAME,  NO PART NUMBER NO NOTHING! I TALKED TO THE EXPERTS I KNEW” “OH GOOD GRIEF, NOW YOU ARE WHINING!” So I completely changed my tone of voice, and repeated, “Look, you didn’t give me anyhting to go on, other than a vauge description.  I did research on the web, i contacted quilters I knew, I talked to the experts in the craft stores.  They all toldme the same thing! The thing thats all in one that they had, is not for fabric, only for paper. ”  “OH GEEEZ NOW YOUR JSUT PISSED OFF AT ME!!! I SHOULD HAVE NEVE SAID ANYHTING!”  “Ya know what, I’m done… You go talk to your lady at church that has this thing you want, you get me the EXACT model, and manufacture and I’ll buy you that!”  “OH YEAH IM SURE I JUST IMAGINED IT! IT DOESNT EXIST”  I ignored her and got back on the laptop.

Why did I bother getting anything at all,  I wait to find out how much she hates the Lion plaque I got her next…

8 thoughts on “Bad Gift #2

  1. Not your fault, Don’t worry about it. Thanks for the link, I showed her it, but “Well thats to expensive! We are NOT getting that!” We??? Again with the We… Oy…

  2. I’m pretty sure that’s what she thought she wanted, though. It *is* very expensive. What you got her sounds like a rotary cutter – looks kind of like a small pizza wheel?

  3. I’m sorry if I told you wrong. I’ve only been using rotary cutters for about 5 years. If you find out what that all in one devise is, please let me know. Sounds interesting. I almost wonder if she means an accucut or accuquilt machine. I’d love one of them. They say you can cut an entire quilt in less than a half an hour. But they are extremely expensive and require dies (bought seperately) to cut what you want. Good luck.

  4. Oh, shit.

    These holidays can be hard to negotiate, but she sounds kind of unreasonable to work with in this area. Gift certs or something completely unexpected next time? Perhaps scaling down the level of giftgiving for each other? I wish you didn’t have to go through that.

  5. I’m sorry your holiday didn’t turn out better. It’s supposed to be a happy time, but I know in some families, there are fights. Too bad she didn’t at least appreciate the research you did, and your efforts.

    You did your best with the info you had, try to not let it get you down.

    Here’s what I told someone else who has a negative person in her life — When she starts acting up like that, just say to yourself “Well, Kate is just being Kate”.

    Translation: She just doesn’t know any better, it’s just the way she is, DON’T take it PERSONALLY, and for your own mental health…. realize she’ll probably never change, know & accept her for who she is, and then – just let it drop.

    Try to remember the *good points* about the holiday, good food, good friends who wish the best for you. I’m sure you can come up with other blessings.

    Take care, and know that you have all my best wishes for a Fantasic New Year!

  6. I’m so sorry you must endure such frightful treatment.

    The families some of us are dealt fall far short of the mark set by the families we find in the world. I hate that you must withstand such shrewish, selfish behavior. Surely she could find some other kind of manners to learn at church? Or maybe I overestimate the power of that institution, to which I admit I am a stranger.

    Courage, friend, and cheer, and the Found Family will prevail.

  7. Thanks everyone for your support. She apologized Saturday evening, for what its worth. I do find it satisfying though that every model of cutter that has been found since the Blowup all state that they are for paper only, exactly as I found… She’s now waiting for word from the lady at church that has the cheaper of the two devices she saw. Apparently the really fancy one she was admiring was around $1500.

Comments are closed.