…Uninvited really smart guest…

OK, once again we have a mouse… (This isn’t that surprising this time of year we usually get one or two, its an OLD house) Normally I trap them quickly…
Normally…
I’m getting concerned though, this one is NOT a normal mouse… It’s VERY smart.

Its been able to clean the trap without tripping it most every time I set it. When the mouse does trip it, it’s never caught…

Tonight… this game has taken a turn for the truly freaking weird… What happens when a mouse starts using tools? I’m starting to fear for my life… Hell before I know it the little critters going to be setting traps for me…

I set the trap in a manner that I was sure would trip him up… Rather then do so though… the mouse somewhere rummaged around under my bed and found an elastic strap used to hold the sheets on the mattress. (I lost this one a while back…) It then took the elastic and wrapped it around the trigger for the trap I can only assume to prevent the trap from tripping.

How the heck do I trap a mouse that smart?

4 thoughts on “…Uninvited really smart guest…

  1. Hmmm… we could loan you Starbuck! Last year he … well, he didn’t so much catch and kill the mouse as he did corral it; at which point Dean caught it and put it in a nice comfy box to show me when I got home. By the time I arrived it had died of fright (or internal injuries). I’m hoping this has made any other potential visitors think better of it because i think mice are adorable. (yes, I know…bad, disease infested etc. BUT still cute!)

  2. I think it may be time to get a cat. Or better yet, a snake – they can get into mouse holes! Yeah, a nice little corn snake would do it. They don’t grow large enough to become a problem and they’re very docile. Aside from that, I suppose you could set out poisoned bait. On flypaper. With a laser beam targeted on the trap to zap him when he gets close enough. It doesn’t sound like you’re particularly bent on a humane disposal, so as long as you aren’t trying to trap him live and release him, I’d say the sky’s the limit. I’ve found that mice go crazy for peanut butter… with arsenic.

Comments are closed.